Summer’s End

I’ll take a drink, one for my friend,
Shadowed figures standing in the shallow end
Our faces met.
Did we see through our souls, the changes to come?
The actions that meant the words we felt,
The sheets gathered by the bed?
I wondered when you unraveled my skin, how much blood you found underneath.
How many touches you could count until we fell asleep,
And awoke again to a world that both hurt us.
Did I become a part of that world?

The waters are still.
Tonight I wake and find my reach unmet by a friend, unmet by a love.
An empty breath.
A Summer’s bliss smothered by salty tides
I remember your laugh as I resist the night,
And drift alone into the deep.

Leave a Reply

